5th Mutton Cup

3-5 August 2023

Club de Bridge Vergara Madrid

Come and join us in Madrid for what is one of the most fun filled bridge events on the calendar. Bridge , culture , and gastronomy in one of the world’s food and drink capitals. No need to find a partner , no need to revise a system . Play one minute with a keen amateur, the next with a world champion.

Registration opens 3rd January 2023


Results from Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Final Ranks

The World’s best Individual bridge tournament

The Venue , hospitality and excursions

Top class professional players will be on hand to guide you through the common system , and discuss the hands from the previous day’s play. Jason himself will lead excursions earlier in the day before play starts.


From traditional to gastronomic fusion , Mutton cuppers can join us for the finest of Madrid’s restaurant and tapas bar scene before , during and after.


Dinner & Drinks

Included in the entry fee, day two dinner, and unlimited snacks and beverages, alcoholic or non-alcoholic during all sessions.


Mutton pre-bridge tour and post post-bridge tour, optional excursions before the day’s play.


The Club de Bridge Vergara Calle del Principe de vergara 82 Madrid 28006

Located in the Salamanca district of Madrid close to the centre , many bars restaurants and hotels a short walk away

Entry Fees

Prices frozen for the 4th consecutive year! €250/£225. (£5/€5 discount for paying by bank transfer)

€170/£150 discounted fee for residents of Spain and juniors (under 26 on 02/06/2023) (same £5/€5 discount for bank transfer

Register now and pay later. Payment due at latest on June 29 2023 ,a month before the event (we need to know numbers as individual movements are quite complex) Card payment is available by clicking the register tab at the top of the page.

Includes unlimited drinks (open bar including cava) and snacks , dinner on day 2 , and expert reviews of the previous session on days 2 and 3 an hour before play.

Registered Players

1 Jason Hackett England

5 Brian Callaghan England

9 Croz Croswell England

13 Angel Jerez Spain 

17 Wayne Somerville N Ireland

21 Maria Whelan Ireland

25 Val Gibson England

29 Eva Turner Portugal

33 Stuart King England

37 Joan Xancó Spain

41 Dave Debbage England

45 Federico Goded Spain


2 Paul Hackett England

6 Dolores Gilliland Ireland

10 Tim Gauld England

14 Krzysztof Wilda Poland

18 Jaime Pons Spain

22 Corrine Grynberg France

26 Ramon Gomez Spain

30 Steve Turner Scotland

34 Christel Gundelach Norway

38 Matthias Schuller Germany

42 Justin Hackett England

46 Jose Jaime Beneyto Spai

3 Wang Wenfei China

7 Pearl Murphy England

11 Ravi Athwal England

15 Diego Brenner Brazil

19 David Levy France

23 Phillip Taylor England

27 Joachim Cappeller Germany

31 Suzy Lawson England

35 David Burn England

39 Christine Walker Scotland

43 Kath Stynes England

47 Kjeld Hansen Denmark

4 Barbara Hackett Germany

8 Denis Murphy England

12 James Thrower England 

16 Debbie Sandford England

20 Paul Murray England

24 Julian Gibson England

28 Mohamed Manaf UAE

32 Michel Rapoport France

36 David Turner England

40 Haig Tchamitch USA

44 Nico Garcia Spain

48 Antonio Guijarro Spain

Previous Results

Recommended hotels and rates
Below are clickable links to nearby hotels.